Michael Owen names his Premier League Team of the Year

Tottenham Hotspur and Leicester City dominate, but stars from Manchester United and West Ham United make the cut.

Michael Owen has named his Premier League Team of the Year for Sportlobster, and unsurprisingly Tottenham Hotspur and Leicester City dominate.

Given that the two sides are currently the top two in the Premier League it is unsurprising that they make up nine of the eleven positions in the team.

The other two positions are filled by a Manchester United star and West Ham United man to round out the team.

Starting in goal, Owen goes with David de Gea, who has been in highly impressive form despite his side’s relative struggles.

Ahead of him in defence is a central partnership of Toby Alderweireld and Foxes stalwart West Morgan, while the full backs are Danny Rose and Kyle Walker in a Spurs heavy backline.

Centre midfield sees N’Golo Kante partner Tottenham’s latest breakout star Dele Alli, while Riyad Mahrez and Dimitri Payet occupy the wings. It is no surprise to find the Hammers man in there either, given the scintillating first season he's enjoyed with Slaven Bilic's team. 

Up front it is a predictable combination as Owen plumps for the Premier League’s top goalscorers in Harry Kane and Jamie Vardy, who have 46 goals between them this season in the league so far.

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch