Graham Poll claims Andy Carroll deserved red card against Arsenal, analyses Lanzini's no-goal

Graham Poll has looked at two refereeing decisions during West Ham v Arsenal.

Former Premier League referee Graham Poll has told the Daily Mail that West Ham striker Andy Carroll should have been sent off against Arsenal on Saturday.

The Hammers played out a remarkable 3-3 draw with Arsenal, coming from two goals down to lead 3-2 in the second half, before Laurent Koscielny rescued a point for the Gunners.

West Ham's hero of the day was striker Carroll, who hit a superb hat-trick as he terrorised the Arsenal defence throughout, given that they simply couldn't handle his aerial ability.

However, many believe that Carroll shouldn't have even been on the pitch. The 27-year-old picked up an early booking, and then committed another foul in the second half, only for referee Craig Pawson to keep the red card in his pocket at Upton Park.

West Ham got lucky there - a rarity with referees of late - but they had cause for complaints too, given that Manuel Lanzini had a goal incorrectly ruled out for offside in the first half, when he was clearly being played onside.

Now, former Premier League referee Graham Poll has told the Daily Mail that he thinks Lanzini's no-goal should have stood, noting that assistant referee Darren Cann got the decision wrong.

However, Poll also claims that Carroll should have been sent off, meaning West Ham benefited from a refereeing decision, and were also damaged by one with Lanzini's no-goal.

"It started badly for the Hammers when Manuel Lanzini turned the ball into the net from a Carroll miskick in the 14 minute but assistant referee Darren Cann flagged for offside," said Poll. "World Cup final assistant Cann is perhaps the most accurate official around at judging offside so when he errs with one you know your luck is out. Replays showed conclusively that Lanzini was played onside by Hector Bellerin and so the effort should have been allowed."

"Carroll's piece of luck came early in the second half when he caught Gabriel in the face with a flailing arm when jumping for an aerial ball. Pawson initially didn't give a foul but corrected that and gave Arsenal a free kick, Carroll had been cautioned (correctly) after just four minutes for a poor late challenge on Laurent Koscielny and really should have got his second yellow for the challenge on Gabriel and therefore been dismissed," he added.

What did you think of the refereeing during West Ham v Arsenal?

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch