Confirmed Preston v Sheffield Wednesday lineups: McGeady misses out, Nuhiu starts

Here is how Preston North End and Sheffield Wednesday line up this afternoon...

Preston North End will be hoping to continue their fine recent form this afternoon as they take on Sheffield Wednesday at Deepdale.

The Lilywhites beat Wolverhampton Wanderers 2-1 last weekend, and have now taken 17 points from the last eight games, as they now sit 16 points clear of the relegation zone - a superb campaign from Simon Grayson's men.

Today, Grayson sticks with the same team that beat Wolves a week ago, with North End operating a 5-3-1-1 system.

Calum Woods and Greg Cunningham start as the full backs, whilst Alan Browne, Paul Gallagher and Daniel Johnson are the midfield trio.

Adam Reach will be given a free role behind Joe Garner, whilst January signing Ben Pearson is back on the bench after a suspension.

Meanwhile, Sheffield Wednesday are joint top of the Championship form table, and are really pushing towards the automatic promotion places.

Intriguingly, January signing Aiden McGeady isn't in the squad at all this afternoon, with no reason currently being stated for his absence.

That means that former Preston winger Ross Wallace and Fernando Forestieri are likely to start out wide, with Gary Hooper and Atdhe Nuhiu starting up front.

Portuguese duo Marco Matias and Lucas Joao are both on the bench, as are Michael Turner and Lewis McGugan in a strong looking Owls squad this afternoon.

Preston lineup


  • Anders Lindegaard
  • Tom Clarke
  • Greg Cunningham
  • Paul Huntington
  • Calum Woods
  • Bailey Wright
  • Alan Browne
  • Paul Gallagher
  • Daniel Johnson
  • Adam Reach
  • Joe Garner

Substitutes: Chris Kirkland, Neil Kilkenny, Ben Pearson, John Welsh, Eoin Doyle, Jordan Hugill, Callum Robinson.

Sheff Wed lineup


  • Keiren Westwood
  • Jack Hunt
  • Tom Lees
  • Daniel Pudil
  • Vincent Sasso
  • Barry Bannan
  • Kieran Lee
  • Ross Wallace
  • Fernando Forestieri
  • Gary Hooper
  • Atdhe Nuhiu

Substitutes: Lewis Price, Joe Bennett, Michael Turner, Lewis McGugan, Álex López, Lucas João, Marco Matias.

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch