Confirmed Tottenham v Watford lineups: Chadli starts, Alli on the bench

Here is how Tottenham Hotspur and Watford will line up this afternoon...

Tottenham Hotspur will be looking for a fourth Premier League victory in a row as they host Watford today.

Spurs beat Norwich City 3-0 at Carrow Road in midweek, and will be hoping to continue their push towards the Premier League title this afternoon.

Today, Mauricio Pochettino again goes with Kevin Wimmer alongside Toby Alderweireld in defence due to Jan Vertonghen's injury, whilst Kieran Trippier and Ben Davies keep out Kyle Walker and Danny Rose at full back.

The big absentee today is Dele Alli, who is only on the bench after coming off at half time against Norwich on Tuesday, with Nacer Chadli handed a starting role after some fine recent form.

Son Heung-min is also dropped to the bench in favour of Erik Lamela, whilst Ryan Mason is a substitute after an injury-hit season.

Meanwhile, opponents Watford have taken four points from the last two games, and picked up a 0-0 draw against Chelsea on Wednesday night.

Intriguingly, manager Quique Sanchez Flores has left striker Troy Deeney on the bench, meaning Odion Ighalo starts up front on his own today.

Former Spurs midfielder Etienne Capoue starts in midfield, and is joined by recent signing Mario Suarez, who arrived from Fiorentina in January.

Another new arrival, Nordin Amrabat, is left on the bench, alongside the likes of Costel Pantilimon and Valon Behrami.

Tottenham lineup


  • Hugo Lloris
  • Toby Alderweireld
  • Ben Davies
  • Kieran Trippier
  • Kevin Wimmer
  • Nacer Chadli
  • Mousa Dembélé
  • Eric Dier
  • Christian Eriksen
  • Erik Lamela
  • Harry Kane

Substitutes: Michel Vorm, Danny Rose, Kyle Walker, Tom Carroll, Dele Alli, Ryan Mason, Son Heung-Min.

Watford lineup


  • Heurelho Gomes
  • Nathan Aké
  • Miguel Britos
  • Craig Cathcart
  • Nyom
  • Almen Abdi
  • Etienne Capoue
  • Jurado
  • Mario Suárez
  • Ben Watson
  • Odion Ighalo

Substitutes: Costel Pantilimon, José Holebas, Sebastian Prödl, Nordin Amrabat, Ikechi Anya, Valon Behrami, Troy Deeney.

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch