Ex-referee Mark Halsey gives verdict on Tottenham's controversial penalty against Leicester

Referee shows Yellow Card

Tottenham were awarded a controversial penalty against Leicester City on Sunday.

Former Premier League referee Mark Halsey has told The Sun that he didn't think Tottenham should have been awarded a penalty against Leicester City on Sunday.

Spurs took the lead against their Premier League rivals, as Christian Eriksen swooped after Kasper Schmeichel had parried Nacer Chadli's shot into his path.

However, Leicester hit back either side of half time, as Marcin Wasilewski guided a superb header past Michel Vorm to make it 1-1, and half-time substitute Shinji Okazaki then danced past Toby Alderweireld to put the Foxes ahead.

Then the game became shrouded in controversy. Late in the game, Tottenham were handed a controversial penalty as Nathan Dyer was adjudged to have handled Danny Rose's cross.

Leicester players protested furiously, but it didn't change referee Robert Madley's mind, as Harry Kane stepped up to earn a 2-2 draw for Spurs, sending the third round tie to a replay.

Leicester players and fans felt aggrieved by the decision, with Dyer's handball seemingly being completely accidental, as he didn't appear to be even looking at the ball.

Now, former Premier League referee Mark Halsey has looked at the decision, and has told The Sun the he thinks Madley got it wrong, and Tottenham shouldn't have been awarded their match-saving penalty at White Hart Lane on Sunday.

"Referees are like goalkeepers — you can be fantastic for 89 minutes and then make an error that will be remembered for a long time," said Halsey. "The penalty for handball that Robert Madley awarded Tottenham against Leicester was not a penalty in my opinion."

"I thought Robert had a good game overall but you will always be judged on how you handle the big decisions. Yes, the ball hit Nathan Dyer on the hand but there was no way it was deliberate, it just hit him. His arm was raised but so was Danny Rose’s and they were both in a natural position," he added.

Do you think it was a penalty?

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch