Confirmed: Watford v Newcastle lineups

Here is how Watford and Newcastle will line up this afternoon...

Watford and Newcastle kick off their FA Cup campaigns against each other as we reach the third round of the competition.

The Hornets enter the game having failed to win any of their last three matches, though much of that is down to a tough run of fixtures against Chelsea, Tottenham and Manchester City.

Quique Sanchez Flores has taken this opportunity to rest some of his key players, with striking sensation Odion Ighalo on the bench, along with Etienne Capoue and Almen Abdi.

That means that the likes of Steven Berghuis and Obbi Oulare are handed starts having been fringe players since joining the club over the summer, as Watford look to beat Newcastle for the second time this season.

Newcastle lost 2-1 at home to Watford earlier in the Premier League season, and will be hoping to hit back with a victory today.

Steve McClaren's men have lost each of their last three matches, and have scored only one goal in their last four games as their struggles continue.

McClaren has named a virtually full-strength side, as the likes of Moussa Sissoko, Georginio Wijnaldum, Aleksandar Mitrovic and Ayoze Perez all start the match, whilst Kevin Mbabu is also brought into the team.

The likes of Yoan Gouffran, Siem de Jong and Florian Thauvin are all available from the bench, along with youngsters Jamaal Lascelles, Jamie Sterry and Ivan Toney, as Newcastle look to make the fourth round of the FA Cup.

Watford lineup


  • Heurelho Gomes
  • Allan Nyom
  • Sebastian Prödl
  • Craig Cathcart
  • José Cholebas
  • Adlène Guedioura
  • José Jurado
  • Steven Berghuis
  • Ben Watson
  • Obbi Oularé
  • Troy Deeney

Substitutes: Miguel Britos, Víctor Ibarbo, Odion Ighalo, Giedrius Arlauskis, Ikechi Anya, Étienne Capoue, Almen Abdi.

Newcastle lineup


  • Rob Elliot
  • Fabricio Coloccini
  • Paul Dummett
  • Daryl Janmaat
  • Kevin Mbabu
  • Chancel Mbemba
  • Moussa Sissoko
  • Cheick Tioté
  • Georginio Wijnaldum
  • Aleksandar Mitrović
  • Ayoze Pérez

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Jamaal Lascelles, Jamie Sterry, Yoan Gouffran, Siem de Jong, Florian Thauvin, Ivan Toney.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for NEWCASTLE UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch