Confirmed Sunderland v Watford lineups: Watmore starts

Here is how Sunderland and Watford will line up this afternoon.

Sunderland will be looking to get back to winning ways this after noon as they host Watford at the Stadium of Light.

The Black Cats had won two games in a row before losing 3-1 at Arsenal last weekend, and they are back down to 19th place in the table.

Today, Allardyce is without Younes Kaboul, which means Billy Jones comes back in to the side having been on the bench against Arsenal.

With players such as Duncan Watmore, Fabio Borini, Ola Toivonen and Steven Fletcher, Sunderland do have plenty of attacking firepower at their disposal.

There are also a number of attacking options on the bench, including Jeremain Lens, Adam Johnson, Danny Graham and Jermain Defoe.

Meanwhile, Watford are on a high having won four of their last six games, with a 2-0 win over Norwich City last weekend.

Quique Sanchez Flores' side have impressed this season, and he can once again call upon Troy Deeney and Odion Ighalo in attack, with both players causing mayhem for opposing defences this term.

Sanchez Flores has made on key change though, as midfielder Almen Abdi comes in for Ikechi Anya, whilst there are plenty of top players on the bench.

Anya, Steven Berghuis, Alessandro Diamanti and Obbi Oulare could all make an impact from the substitutes bench if needed today, with a tough task expected against Sunderland today.

Sunderland lineup


  • Costel Pantilimon
  • Sebastián Coates
  • Billy Jones
  • John O'Shea
  • Patrick van Aanholt
  • DeAndre Yedlin
  • Yann M'Vila
  • Fabio Borini
  • Steven Fletcher
  • Ola Toivonen
  • Duncan Watmore

Substitutes: Vito Mannone, Adam Matthews, Adam Johnson, Jack Rodwell, Danny Graham, Jermain Defoe, Jeremain Lens.

Watford lineup


  • Heurelho Gomes
  • Nathan Aké
  • Miguel Britos
  • Craig Cathcart
  • Nyom
  • Almen Abdi
  • Etienne Capoue
  • Jurado
  • Ben Watson
  • Troy Deeney
  • Odion Ighalo

Substitutes: Giedrius Arlauskis, Juan Carlos Paredes, Ikechi Anya, Adlène Guédioura, Steven Berghuis, Alessandro Diamanti, Mamadou Obbi Oularé.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch