QPR 1-0 Leeds: Charlie Austin makes the difference

Queens Park Rangers 1 - 0 Leeds United

  • 58" Charlie Austin

Ref: Peter Bankes
Attendance: 18,031

QPR Crest

Queens Park Rangers have defeated Leeds United 1-0 at Loftus Road in the Championship this afternoon.

Queens Park Rangers have registered a 1-0 victory over Leeds United at Loftus Road in the Championship this afternoon.

Alejandro Faurlin had the first chance of the match in the ninth minute, but the QPR midfielder’s attempt from outside Leeds penalty box was off target.

Stuart Dallas tried to turn in a cross from Lewis Cook for Leeds on 17 minutes, but he failed.

Chris Wood came close for the visiting team on 26 minutes, before Grant Hall’s header from close range was saved by the Leeds goalkeeper.

Hall had another chance from a header for QPR, before Nedum Onuoha and Paul Konchesky had chances for the hosts just before the half-time interval.

Dallas tried a shot from distance for Leeds in the opening minutes of the second half, and soon after QPR took the lead.

Charlie Austin replaced Michael Petrasso in the 57th minute and found the target almost immediately when he headed in a cross from Faurlin.

The English striker could have doubled the lead on 63 minutes had he managed to keep another header on goal.

Faurlin, Matthew Phillips and Tjaronn Chery all had chances for Rangers as the match progressed, but the home team had to settle for a 1-0 win.


Queens Park Rangers

Leeds United



Shots on target

Total shots

Team Lineups

Queens Park Rangers

  • Robert Green
  • Nedum Onuoha
  • James Perch
  • Grant Hall
  • Paul Konchesky
  • Michael Petrasso
  • Yun Suk-Young
  • Alejandro Faurlin
  • Junior Hoilett
  • Sandro
  • Matthew Phillips


  • Karl Henry
  • Tjaronn Chery
  • Daniel Tözsér
  • Alex Smithies
  • Charlie Austin
  • Massimo Luongo
  • Gabriele Angella

Leeds United

  • Marco Silvestri
  • Scott Wootton
  • Charlie Taylor
  • Giuseppe Bellusci
  • Liam Cooper
  • Stuart Dallas
  • Alex Mowatt
  • Lewis Cook
  • Liam Bridcutt
  • Mirco Antenucci
  • Chris Wood


  • Souleymane Doukara
  • Sam Byram
  • Lee Erwin
  • Jordan Botaka
  • Bailey Peacock-Farrell
  • Luke Murphy
  • Tom Adeyemi

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch