Quick links


AFC Ajax

Confirmed: Celtic v Ajax lineups - Tierney recalled, McGregor starts

Here is how Celtic and Ajax will line up for tonight's Europa League game.

Celtic are in desperate need of a win as they take on Ajax in the Europa League at Celtic Park tonight.

The Bhoys are without a win in their four Europa League games so far, and sit bottom of Group A with just one point to their name.

Tonight, manager Ronny Deila has to make do without three central midfielders, as Stefan Johansen, Nir Bitton and Scott Brown are all unavailable.

That means that Stuart Armstrong will partner Callum McGregor in midfield, with James Forrest and Gary Mackay-Steven out wide, whilst Tom Rogic will again continue behind Leigh Griffiths.

Left back Kieran Tierney is recalled to the starting line-up having been benched against Kilmarnock, whilst there are places on the bench for fringe players cott Allan and Anthony Stokes.

Meanwhile, Ajax are on a high having thrashed Cambuur 5-1 in the Eredivisie over the weekend, and Frank de Boer can call upon many of his star names.

Jasper Cillessen, Nemanja Gudelj, Davy Klaassen, Viktor Fischer and Arkadiusz Milik all start for Ajax, who drew 2-2 with Celtic in the reverse fixture earlier in the campaign.

Having missed out on the Champions League, Ajax need a strong Europa League campaign, but sit in third place in Group A with only three points - making tonight's clash a hugely important one for both clubs.

Celtic lineup


  • Craig Gordon
  • Dedryck Boyata
  • Mikael Lustig
  • Jozo Šimunović
  • Stuart Armstrong
  • James Forrest
  • Gary Mackay-Steven
  • Callum McGregor
  • Tom Rogić
  • Kieran Tierney
  • Leigh Griffiths

Substitutes: Logan Bailly, Efe Ambrose, Emilio Izaguirre, Charlie Mulgrew, Scott Allan, Anthony Stokes, Nadir Çiftçi.

Ajax lineup


  • Jasper Cillessen
  • Mitchell Dijks
  • Mike van der Hoorn
  • Jaïro Riedewald
  • Kenny Tete
  • Nemanja Gudelj
  • Davy Klaassen
  • Lasse Schöne
  • Viktor Fischer
  • Arkadiusz Milik
  • Amin Younes

Substitutes: Diederik Boer, John Heitinga, Nick Viergever, Ricardo van Rhijn, Donny van de Beek, Yaya Sanogo, Václav Černy.


Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch