Quick links



Confirmed: Scotland v Poland lineups - Griffiths on bench, Steven Fletcher starts

Here is how Scotland and Poland will line up for tonight's European Champions qualifier.

It's a vital night at Hampden Park has Scotland's hopes of reaching Euro 2016 hang by a thread against Poland.

Scotland's 3-2 defeat to Germany in their last game means that losing to Poland tonight will rule them out of contention for the tournament, though much could depend on how the Republic of Ireland fare against Germany this evening.

Manager Gordon Strachan has surprisingly left Celtic's Leigh Griffiths on the substitutes bench, as Steven Fletcher leads the line, with Everton's Steven Naismith sitting in behind him.

Celtic's James Forrest does have a place in the starting line-up after an impressive start to the season, and joins club team-mate Scott Brown in the team.

Meanwhile, Poland sit in second place, six points ahead of tonight's opponents Scotland after an impressive campaign.

Adam Nawalka's side will be spearheaded by Bayern Munich hero Robert Lewandowski, whose recent form can be matched by few in Europe right now.

With other notable names such as Jakub Blaszczykowski, Grzegorz Krychowiak, Lukasz Fabianski and Lukasz Piszczek, Poland have a number of key players who can hurt Scotland on the night.

Given that Ireland are closing them down in Group D, Poland need a result tonight as they look to book their place on the plane to France next summer.

Scotland lineup


  • David Marshall
  • Alan Hutton
  • Steven Whittaker
  • Grant Hanley
  • Russell Martin
  • Darren Fletcher
  • Matt Ritchie
  • James Forrest
  • Scott Brown
  • Steven Fletcher
  • Steven Naismith

Substitutes: Andrew Robertson, Christophe Berra, Gordon Greer, Leigh Griffiths, Jordan Rhodes, Allan McGregor, James McArthur, Graham Dorrans, Shaun Maloney.

Poland lineup


  • Łukasz Fabiański
  • Kamil Glik
  • Michał Pazdan
  • Łukasz Piszczek
  • Jakub Błaszczykowski
  • Grzegorz Krychowiak
  • Krzysztof Mączyński
  • Maciej Rybus
  • Kamil Grosicki
  • Robert Lewandowski
  • Arkadiusz Milik

Substitutes: Artur Boruc, Wojciech Szczęsny, Thiago Cionek, Artur Jędrzejczyk, Jakub Wawrzyniak, Ariel Borysiuk, Tomasz Jodłowiec, Karol Linetty, Sebastian Mila, Artur Sobiech.

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch