Aston Villa name 25-man Premier League squad, TIago Ilori shirt number announced

Tiago Ilori has been handed the #2 shirt at Aston Villa.

Aston Villa have this evening named their 25-man squad for the Premier League season on their official website, as required after the end of the summer transfer window.

Villa had a huge summer, losing defender Ron Vlaar, midfielders Fabian Delph and Tom Cleverley as well as star striker Christian Benteke.

Manager Tim Sherwood therefore had to bring in a host of new signings, and with 12 new arrivals - Mark Bunn, Micah Richards, Jose Crespo, Joleon Lescott, Tiago Ilori, Jordan Amavi, Jordan Veretout, Idrissa Gueye, Adama Traroe, Scott Sinclair, Jordan Ayew and Rudy Gestede.

With the transfer window now over, Sherwood has named his 25-man squad for the Premier League season, with three more players registered as Under-21 players - Amavi, Traore and Jack Grealish.

The statement from Villa on their official website also shows that deadline day signing Ilori, who joined on a season-long loan from Liverpool, has been handed the number two shirt at Villa Park.

Defender Phillipe Senderos has not been handed a squad number, though out-of-favour playmaker Charles N'Zogbia has.

Here is the confirmed squad list of 25 players for Aston Villa's Premier League campaign, as well as their three Under-21 stars...

1] Brad Guzan

2] Tiago Ilori

4] Micah Richards

5] Jores Okore

6] Ciaran Clark

7] Leandro Bacuna

8] Idrissa Gueye

9] Scott Sinclair

11] Gabby Agbonlahor

12] Joe Cole

13] Jed Steer

15] Ashley Westwood

16] Joleon Lescott

17] Jordan Veretout

18] Kieran Richardson

19] Jordan Ayew

21] Alan Hutton

22] Gary Gardner

24] Carlos Sanchez

25] Carles Gil

27] Libor Kozak

28] Charles N'Zogbia

31] Mark Bunn

33] Jose Angel Crespo

39] Rudy Gestede

Three other players are registered as U21s.

20] Adama Traore

23] Jordan Amavi

40] Jack Grealish

Register for ASTON VILLA team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch