Ian Wright selects Team of the Season: includes Chelsea midfielder, snubs Liverpool attacker

Manchester United, Chelsea, Southampton, Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur stars are in Ian Wright’s team, but Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho is not.

Arsenal legend Ian Wright has revealed his Premier League Team of the Season to BBC Sport.

The former England international striker has made three changes to the team which was voted by the PFA as the Premier League Team of the 2014-15 campaign.

Southampton duo Jose Fonte and Nathaniel Clyne, and Chelsea midfielder Cesc Fabregas find themselves in Wright’s team.

Portuguese centre-back Fonte replaces Chelsea star Gary Cahill and Clyne comes in place of Blues right-back Branislav Ivanovic.

Former Arsenal captain Fabregas gets the nod ahead of Liverpool youngster Philippe Coutinho in attacking midfield.

While many Premier League fans will debate choosing Fonte and Clyne over Cahill and Ivanovic, picking Fabregas ahead of Coutinho is a wise decision.

While the Liverpool playmaker has been in good form this year, over the course of the season Fabregas has been the better player.

The Spain international has scored three goals and created 83 chances in 30 Premier League appearances, while having a pass accuracy of 86% and a shot accuracy of 57%.

Coutinho has scored four goals and created 45 chances in 30 league matches, while having a pass accuracy of 80% and a shot accuracy of 51%.

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for LIVERPOOL team updates

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch