14 Goals, 12 Assists: Nottingham Forest star not Tottenham loanee deserved PFA Team of the Year inclusion

Why Nottingham Forest's former Sheffield Wednesday winger Michail Antonio merited inclusion in the PFA Championship Team of the Year.

The Championship Team of the Year was named over the weekend, and there was one glaring omission.

Nottingham Forest winger Michail Antonio was not included despite a stunning 2014/15 season following his summer move from Sheffield Wednesday.

The team, as reported upon by The BBC, included three attacking midfielders behind Watford striker Troy Deeney and Ipswich's Daryl Murphy.

These were Matt Ritchie of Bournemouth, Bakary Sako of Wolves, and Brentford's Tottenham Hotspur loanee Alex Pritchard.

A look at the goals and assists of the quartet this season shows Forest ace Antonio has contributed six more than Sako, and eight higher in comparison to Alex Pritchard.

Matt Ritchie Bournemouth 12 16 28
Michail Antonio Forest 14 12 26
Bakary Sako Wolves 14 6 20
Alex Pritchard Brentford 11 7 18

There was no dependence on set pieces either from Antonio, as he has scored four more goals than his closest rival from open play.

Alex Pritchard has had an excellent season for Brentford, but it is hard to argue that he is more deserving on an individual basis than Antonio.

  TeamGoalsGoals from Open Play
Michail Antonio Forest 14 13
Matt Ritchie Bournemouth 12 9
Bakary Sako Wolves 14 7
Alex Pritchard Brentford 11 7

There was no place in the team for the recently voted Championship Player of the Year Patrick Bamford, the Middlesbrough striker on loan from Chelsea.

Also featuring in the line-up were Sheffield Wednesday's Keiron Westwood in goal, Norwich's Russell Martin, Middlesbrough's George Friend, Derby's Richard Keogh, Bournemouth's Simon Francis, and Grant Leadbitter of Middlesbrough in midfield.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch