Photo: Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez sticks two fingers up at the referee after booking

Alexis Sanchez Chile

Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez was booked for diving against Monaco and did not look too happy.

Alexis Sanchez was booked for a dive as Arsenal crashed out of the Champions League on away goals to Monaco.

The Chilean international reacted angrily to the decision, gesturing to the referee, although exactly what he was saying is open to interpretation.

It was easy to see why Sanchez felt frustrated with the referee's choice to hand him a yellow card. The attacker was felled in the box, but the way he went to ground did not seem like a dive.

The coming together seemed like just that, a tangle of legs in the box, and not an attempt to gain an unfair advantage during the Champions League clash.

The booking raised questions over whether referees decide between too extremes in such scenarios, a booking or a penalty, when often the required action is to simply wave play on or take no disciplinary action.

Sanchez was perhaps a victim of that and nearly paid for it, with a late tackle in the second half giving the referee the chance to send him off for a second bookable offence, which fortunately in his favour, was not taken. 

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch