Report: Referee privately admits mistake after big United decision

Wayne Rooney 2014

A new report claims the referee who awarded Manchester United a penalty against Preston North End has acknowledged his mistake in private.

According to a report in the Daily Mail, referee Phil Dowd has privately admitted that he was wrong to award a penalty to Manchester United against Preston North End.

Louis van Gaal’s side were 2-1 up, courtesy of goals from Ander Herrera and Marouane Fellaini, when Wayne Rooney was adjudged to have been fouled in the box by Preston goalkeeper Thorsten Stuckmann.

However, the Daily Mail claims Dowd has reflected on his decision and admitted he got it wrong on this occasion.

The report quotes a source as saying, “With this one, he has realised that he probably shouldn’t have awarded a penalty. It was a mistake.”

With United struggling to break Preston down for much of the encounter, and with just one goal in it heading into the final few minutes, the penalty ended the game as a contest just as the League One side would have been hoping to snatch a late equaliser.

The hosts had initially taken the lead when Scott Laird scored two minutes after the interval, but United avoided what would have been the latest in a long line of FA Cup shocks this season…with a little help from that late spot-kick.

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch