Arsenal and Liverpool-linked trio win prestigious Belgian awards

Dennis Praet, Youri Tielemans and Mathew Ryan have won individual awards at the Belgian Golden Shoe ceremony.

The Belgian duo - 20-years-old and 17-years-old respectively - and the 22-year-old Australian ‘keeper, were all recipients of awards at the Belgian Golden Shoe ceremony.

As reported by HLN, Club Brugge stopper Ryan was named Goalkeeper of the Year, Tielemans was awarded the title of Promising Talent of the Year, and his Anderlecht teammate Praet won the actual Golden Shoe, as the best player in the Jupiler Pro League for the year of 2014.

Praet won the title to claim it off of Chelsea man Thorgan Hazard, who won the 2013 edition for his successful loan spell with Zulte Waregem.

All three winners have been heavily linked with moves to the Premier League in the past, and their successes in Belgium will have done much to further improve their reputation.

Praet has been linked with a transfer to Arsenal by the Standard previously, whilst Tielemans has been watched by Liverpool, as per a report in the Mirror. It is also the Reds who have shown an interest in Ryan, with the Guardian publishing a report on that subject yesterday.

Although there is a step up to be made from the Jupiler Pro League to the Premier League, some players have made the jump and impressed, such as Marouane Fellaini, Romelu Lukaku and Thibaut Courtois - who came third in the Golden Shoe in 2008, 2009 and 2011 respectively.

That trio’s success in England has shown that Belgian players can be a success when signed from their home nation, and the awards given to Tielemans, Praet and Ryan could just be the thing that sees concrete offers made for the Arsenal and Liverpool linked stars.

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for LIVERPOOL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch