Nottingham Forest boss Stuart Pearce: Britt Assombalonga penalty decision was right

Stuart Pearce comments on the controversial incident in the Championship game between Birmingham City and Nottingham Forest on Saturday.

Nottingham Forest manager Stuart Pearce has admitted that the decision to allow a penalty to Birmingham City on Saturday was correct.

The Blues were awarded the spot-kick late in the Championship game at St. Andrew’s when Forest striker Britt Assombalonga was adjudged to have handled the ball.

The incident was actually seen by the fourth official, but Pearce accepts the decision gracefully.

“I saw Britt handball it and so did the fourth official behind me,” the 52-year-old told Forest’s official website.

”I'm not quite sure how the referee and his linesman who were closer could not see that but fair play to the referee, he has admitted he couldn't see the incident.

"It has taken a while for the decision to be made but eventually the right one has been and we accept that. We'll never be a football club that bemoans the match officials."

It is indeed truly remarkable of Pearce to admit that the decision was correct. How many times has one heard top Premier League bosses claim not to have seen controversial incidents?

Pearce could have easily said that he did not see the Assombalonga handball incident or even claim that it was an offence.

The 2-1 defeat to Birmingham away from home leaves Forest ninth in the Championship table with 28 points from 19 matches, just three points behind sixth-placed Blackburn Rovers.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch