Star Wars Episode 7 finally named

Star Wars Episode VII The Force Awakens

The next Star Wars movie has finally been given a full title Star Wars: The Force Awakens

For a long time now both fans and those involved in JJ Abrahms' Star Wars project have simply known the movie as Episode VII but now we can finally start to use it's true title, Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

The title was revealed on the official Star Wars Twitter account earlier today along with a new Logo.

SEE ALSO: Star Wars Episode VII Concept Art Leaked

Fans are already taking to Twitter to show their love/disgust (delete as appropriate) of the new title with many pointing out the obvious fact that it breaks from the traditional Star Wars naming convention, by missing out the Episode VII. That's not to say of course that the Episode VII will not be included once the film is released, it may just be for this particular publicity image.

SEE ALSO: Warwick Davis confirmed for Star Wars: Episode VII

But why release this today? Well, according to the tweet itself principle photography has now finished , meaning that a teaser trailer could well be out very soon, an early Christmas present perhaps? We shall have to wait and see but we certainly like the title and what it may mean with regards to the plot.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens is scheduled for release on 18th December 2015 and will star Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Harrison Ford, Max Von Sydow, Peter Mayhew, Anthony Daniels, Adam Driver, Andy Serkis, John Boyega, Domhnall Gleeson and Daisy Ridley.

SEE ALSO: Star Wars: X-Wing and Tie Fighter to get digital releases

Register for HITC Gaming Digest