Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix 1 to get cassette release

Guardians of the Galaxy Cassette

Disney announce Guardians of the Galaxy Soundtrack to be released on Cassette tape.

Let's face it, Guardians of the Galaxy had a great soundtrack and the official Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol 1 soundtrack release was a deserved success, reaching number one in the United States and being certified Gold after only eight weeks of it's release.

Disney have now announced a new release of the soundtrack that will appeal to fans of both the movie and the comics, making the decision to release Awesome Mix 1 on Cassette Tape, just like in the film. 

SEE ALSO: Captain America 3 will be 'huge', teases Robert Downey Jr.

Those who have seen the movie will remember that Peter Quill a.k.a Star Lord, played by Chris Pratt, was given the compilation tape by his mother before she died. The cassette then gives us the soundtrack for the rest of the film. 

The music on the tape is truly iconic, featuring songs by David Bowie, Marvin Gaye and The Jackson 5 among others.

The full tracklisting is listed below.

1) Hooked On A Feeling - Blue Suede

2) Go All The Way - Raspberries

3) Spirit In The Sky - Norman Greenbaum

4) Moonage Daydream - David Bowie

5) Fooled Around And Fell In Love - Elvin Bishop

6) I'm Not In Love - 10cc

7) I Want You Back - The Jackson 5

8) Come And Get Your Love - Redbone

9) Cherry Bomb - The Runaways

10) Escape (The Pina Colada Song) - Rupert Holmes

11) O-o-oh Child - Five Stairsteps

12) Ain't No Mountain High Enough - Marvin Gaye Feat: Tammi Terrell

This will be Disney's first cassette release since 2003's Classic Disney compilation, however there have been an increasing number of cassette release in recent times with the format regaining popularity with indie bands and nostalgic fans alike. Bands such as Haim, MGMT, Beck, The Gaslight Anthem and The Flaming Lips have all released Almbums and singles on Cassette in the last two years and the format has made a return to the demo scene with many new bands choosing to hand out cassettes at their gigs and to prospective labels and promoters.

SEE ALSO: Warwick Davis confirmed for Star Wars: Episode VII

The limited edition cassette will be released on 17th November 2014 and will only be available at independant record stores that support Record Store Day.

For more info on Record Store Day in the US click here

For more info on Record Store Day in the UK click here

Register for HITC Gaming Digest