Take That announce details of Jason Orange-less new album, III

Jason Snake-hips Orange

Two weeks after Jason Orange bid fond farewell to Gary Barlow, Howard Donald and Mark Owen, Take That have announced a new album, the aptly titled III.

Due out on 1 December, the group confirmed details of their seventh album on Twitter, while also unveiling its artwork, and a brand new song called These Days. Produced by Greg Kurstin, it is described as “out-and-out feelgood pop”, it laments the “battles we have won” and features all three members on vocals, as well as a disco-riff.

Aside from Kurstin (Lana Del Rey, Katy Perry), the band have enlisted John Shanks (Take That- Beautiful World, The Circus), Stuart Price(Take That, Madonna, The Killers) and Jeff Lynne (ELO, Paul McCartney, Tom Petty) to produce the album.

III is their first since Progress, an album release by the then five-piece, with both Orange and Robbie Williams still in the band. Orange, 44, decided that he would not commit to recording and promoting this latest release: “At the start of this year and with my full knowledge and blessing the guys began writing new material,” he said. “There have been no fallings out, only a decision on my part that I no longer wish to do this ... They have my full support and encouragement to continue on with what is to be another chapter for the band.”

Take that formed in 1990, before splitting up in 1996 and launching their comeback in 2005. They have had eight No 1 albums, 15 No 1 singles and have sold over 30 million albums.

Powered by Guardian.co.ukThis article was written by Guardian music, for theguardian.com on Friday 10th October 2014 08.29 Europe/Londonguardian.co.uk © Guardian News and Media Limited 2010