Guild Wars 2 hosts first world championship with $50,000 prize pool

Guild Wars 2

Players are currently competing for their place in the finals of the MMO's first international tournament.

Guild Wars 2's first World Tournament Series Championships roadmap has been laid out - the prize pool of $50,000 will be distributed amongst the winners of the first ever Guild Wars 2 world champions.

In the build up to the debut finals of the event in China on 4th-5th December, the teams must finish competing in the Tournament of Glory (taking place now), with the teams that remain taking part in the tournament's finals on 11th-12th October.

The winners of the TOG finals then move on to the WTS qualifiers scheduled on 25th-26th October and whoever survives those rounds will earn their place in the WTS finals in China this December, with travel covered by ArenaNet and NCsoft.

ArenaNet also announced this week that from today until 1st October you'll be able to play Guild Wars 2 completely free. There's also an offer of 50% off when purchasing the game until 5th October.

During EGX this weekend the devs are showcasing the game during some livestreams over on their Twitch channel too. The schedule is below:

Thursday, 25th September, 14:00 CEST (13:00 BST): What is Player vs. Player?

Thursday, 25th September, 17:00 CEST (16:00 BST): What is Guild Wars 2?

Friday, 26th September, 14:00 CEST (13:00 BST): Points of Interest

Friday, 26th September, 17:00 CEST (16:00 BST): What is World vs. World?

Saturday, 27th September, 14:00 CEST (13:00 BST): What is Living World?

Saturday, 27th September, 17:00 CEST (16:00 BST): Tequatl Boss Fight

Sunday, 28th September, 15:00 CEST (14:00 BST): PvP Exhibition Match

Related articles:

Minimum and recommended specs for WoW: Warlords of Draenor revealed

Analyst sees Blizzard Titan cancellation as a "problem"

Blizzard cancel Titan after seven years of development

Register for HITC Gaming Digest