Zabaleta 'can't believe' Diego Costa did not receive red card

Quaresma and Zabaleta Portugal Argentina

Pablo Zabaleta believes that Chelsea striker Diego Costa should have seen red against Manchester City today.

Manchester City and Chelsea played out a 1-1 draw at the Etihad Stadium this evening and while it was certainly not a dirty game, it did see Mike Dean dishing out the cards in what was not a necessarily clever refereeing display considering the magnitude of the fixture.

It soon became inevitable that somebody would get sent off, and sure enough they did. Pablo Zabaleta made perhaps too many a mistimed tackle for Mr Dean's liking and he was sent for an early bath after receiving his second bookable offence.

But there is no doubt the fiery Chelsea striker Diego Costa played a role in his sending off. He got up off the ground for some needle with the Argentine, with perhaps his Brazilian blood boiling, which made the incident appear more severe than it actually was.

Costa was booked for his actions, but Zabaleta was not pleased with that decision.

He has taken to his official Twitter account this evening to post an apology, and also claim that the Chelsea man should have seen red for his actions.



As it was Chelsea went on to score through Andre Schurrle not long after the red-card, but City had the last laugh - when Chelsea legend Frank Lampard scored a late equaliser after coming on as a sub.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for MANCHESTER CITY team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch