Leicester 5-3 Manchester United: Foxes come back to secure historic win

Leicester City defeated Manchester United 5-3 on Sunday afternoon.

Leicester City secured an historic victory over Manchester United at the King Power Stadium on Sunday.

United opened the scoring through Robin van Persie, before a sublime effort from Angel Di Maria and a clever finish from Ander Herrera put United 3-1 up after Leonardo Ulloa had briefly suggested a comeback was on the cards.

But while it looked as though Louis van Gaal's side would go on to win even more emphatically than they did against Queens Park Rangers, the Foxes had other ideas.

A penalty from David Nugent and a first Premier League goal from Esteban Cambiasso made it 3-3, before Jamie Vardy surged through to put the hosts in front.

Ulloa then went on to convert a penalty of his own after Tyler Blackett had been sent off for fouling Vardy in the box.

That was the end of the scoring, but the postmortem will go for quite some time among United fans.  Not that Leicester supporters mind.  They have seen their side make history, in so doing giving them the very real belief that they could be fighting for much more than top flight survival this season.

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch