League of Legends prize pool for World Championships 2014 announced

League of Legends 2014 World Championships Logo

Riots Games announced the prize pool for its upcoming MOBA tournament, along with the match stage schedule.

Fancy winning part of a cool $1 million? Well, all you need to do is get really, really good and League of Legends, join a pro team, and win the League of Legends World Championships in South Korea. Easy.

The League of Legends World Championships are due to begin in September, and the regional qualifiers are being played right now.

Riot Games revealed the prize pool for the event in their recently published 2014 World Championship Rule book.

The team that wins the championship will walk away with $1 million USD, with second place receiving $250,000 USD. Third and fourth places receive $150,000 USD each, whilst teams that place fifth to eighth win $75,000 USD each.

The first couple of group stages are to be held in Taiwan and Singapore, with the finals taking place in the huge Seoul World Cup Stadium -  Sangam Stadium - in South Korea. The event calendar is below, as per the League of Legends website update:

GROUP STAGE ONE: September 18th - 21st

Taipei, Taiwan

Local time - 5pm - 11pm

PDT - 2am - 8am

CEST - 11am - 5pm

KST - 6pm - 12pm

GROUP STAGE TWO: September 25th - 28th

Singapore, Singapore

Sept 25th - 26th

Local Time - 5pm - 11pm

PDT - 2am - 8am

CEST - 11am - 5pm

KST - 6pm - 12am

Sept 27th - 28th

Local Time - 2pm - 8pm

PDT - 11pm - 5am

CEST - 8am - 2pm

KST - 3pm - 9pm

QUARTER FINALS: October 3rd - 6th

Busan, Korea

October 3rd

Local time - 5pm - 10pm

PDT - 1am - 6am

CEST - 10am - 3pm

October 4th - 5th

Local time - 2pm - 7pm

PDT - 10pm - 3am

CEST - 7am - 12pm

October 6th

Local time - 5pm - 10pm

PDT - 1am - 6am

CEST - 10am - 3pm

SEMI FINALS: October 11th-12th

Seoul, Korea

Local time - 5pm - 10pm

PDT - 1am - 6am

CEST - 10am - 3pm

FINAL: October 19th

Seoul, Korea

Local time: 4pm - 9pm - (3:30 Opening Ceremony)

PDT - 12am - 5am (11:30pm Opening Ceremony)

CEST - 9am - 2pm (8:30am Opening Ceremony)

 

League of Legends is massively popular, pulling in the most viewers on Twitch than any other game. However, the prize pool pales in comparison to last month’s Dota 2 TI4 tournament where team NewBee took home $5 million USD from a prize pool of just over $10 million USD. That being said, eSports prize pools in general appear to be growing year on year, so it's all good for the sport.

Related articles:

New LoL Champion, Gnar

Dota 2 meets Mario Kart

Dota 2 vs Counter Strike

Why you should never play Dota 2

Top free MOBAS

YouPorn want to sponsor eSports team

 

 

Register for HITC Gaming Digest