The Weekend Motorsport Digest (July 14)

Marc Marquez Germany

HITC Motorsport brings you up to speed with the best of the weekend's racing action, including IndyCar, DTM and Formula Renault 3.5.

Brad Keselowski took his second NASCAR Sprint Cup win in three races, beating Kyle Busch and Kyle Larson at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. However it was a less successful day for Keselowski's team-mate Joey Logano, whose hopes were ended after a collision with 72-year-old racer Morgan Shepherd.

READ MORE: Keselowski sweeps to Loudon victory

In IndyCar's Iowa event, Ryan Hunter-Reay got his first win since taking Indy 500 victory in May. The Andretti Autosport driver beat youngster Josef Newgarden and Ganassi's Tony Kanaan to clinch his 12th career triumph. Meanwhile Helio Castroneves moved ahead of team-mate Will Power in the standings after finishing eighth, while the Aussie could only manage 14th.

READ MOREHunter-Reay wins and Montoya crashes out at Iowa Corn 300

Marc Marquez took his ninth win from nine MotoGP races this season, cutting through the pack after starting from the pits. The reigning world champion continues to tear up the record books with his incredible run of success and enjoys a handsome points advantage. In fact, he could feasibly sit out the next three rounds and still be guaranteed to lead the standings.

READ MORE: Marquez makes it nine wins from nine after hectic race start

Maxime Martin took his first DTM win at only the fifth time of asking with victory at Moscow Raceway. The event was punctuated by a pair of safety car periods, but Martin remained cool to control the race from pole.

Behind the Belgian his BMW team-mate Bruno Spengler finished second, with Mattias Ekstrom the top Audi in third. Championship leader Marco Wittmann (BMW) was fourth, Nico Muller (Audi) scored his first points in fifth, while Christian Vietoris was the lead Mercedes in seventh.

Wittmann now leads Ekstrom by 20 points with Spengler a further seven in arrears. Martin's win vaults him to sixth in the standings.

Carlos Sainz Jr. saw his Formula Renault 3.5 championship advantage cut at the Nurburgring despite taking the opening race win. His fellow countryman Roberto Merhi finished second, then secured pole for race two and cruised to victory. Sainz was eliminated in a turn one tangle, reducing his points advantage to 39.

READ MOREMerhi launches FR3.5 title bid with standout Nurburgring weekend

Meanwhile, in the supporting 2.0 Eurocup, Nyck de Vries and Dennis Olsen shared the honours. De Vries won the opening contest from Alexander Albon and Jack Aitken, while in the second outing Norwegian Olsen triumphed from guest driver Charles Leclerc and Ignazio D'Agosto. De Vries now enjoys an increased points advantage, leading Olsen by 30.

In the European F3 Championship, Esteban Ocon ended Max Verstappen's victory streak by scoring a hat-trick of wins at Moscow Raceway. The Lotus junior driver beat Jordan King in the opening contest, with Verstappen coming home third. Race two saw Ocon double up, this time leading Antonio Fuoco and Tom Blomqvist across the line. The Frenchman completed his hat-trick in the final outing with Verstappen second and Fuoco third. Ocon now leads Verstappen by 116 points.

FIA F3 Moscow

Kazuki Nakajima bagged his first Super Formula win of the season and assumed the championship lead in the process. The Team TOM'S driver made the best of a late rain shower at Fuji Speedway to move to second, then snatched P1 on the final lap.

READ MORENakajima snatches Super Formula win and points lead at rain-hit Fuji

And in other news...

Robert Kubica won Italy's Rally del Casentino, taking 10 of the 12 stages aboard a Ford Fiesta RS. The former F1 star beat the Citroen DS3 of Felice Re by more than two and a half minutes to ensure a comfortable triumph.

British Olympic legend Sir Chris Hoy enjoyed success on four wheels rather than two last weekend, taking his maiden British GT podium at Spa-Francorchamps. 

Finally, OAK Racing won the United SportsCar Championship race at Mosport, with Gustavo Yacaman and Olivier Pla dominating from pole aboard their Morgan-Nissan LMP2. Richard Westbrook and Michael Valiante were second in the prototype class, while Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen took GTLM honours for Corvette.