Argentina 3-2 Nigeria: La Albiceleste maintain 100% record

Aguero and Messi Argentina

Two goals from Lionel Messi secured a 3-2 win for Argentina over Nigeria, but the Super Eagles will join their South American opponents in the last 16.

Argentina started with the same 11 that beat Iran 1-0, but it didn’t take long for their main man to score in his third match in a row.

An Angel Di Maria shot was saved by Vincent Enyeama on to the post, and the ball fell to Lionel Messist six yards out, and with his left foot, fired the ball into the roof of the net to give the South Americans a 1-0 lead inside three minutes.

Nigeria needed a point to guarantee qualification, and they equalised within a minute of conceding in a frantic start, Ahmed Musa had the ball down the left wing, the CSKA Moscow winger come inside onto his right foot and curled the ball inside the far post with a lovely finish.

Argentina looked on top, and Messi scored his fourth goal in the tournament with a free kick in the last minute of the half. The Barcelona man lifted the ball over the wall and into the corner from 25 yards out with such ease, a superb goal.

Like the first half, there were two quick goals in the second half, this time Nigeria scored first in the half. A superb run from Musa and dummy allowed him to finish into the bottom corner and equalise for the Super Eagles on 47 minutes.

Nigeria was only level for three minutes though as left-back as Marcos Rojo headed in an Ezequiel Lavezzi corner from close range.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch