Nigeria 1-0 Bosnia & H: Stoke City striker scores winner

Nigeria 1 - 0 Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • 29" Peter Odemwingie

Ref: Peter O'Leary
Attendance: 40,499

Edin Dzeko Bosnia

Peter Odemwingie scored the only goal of the game against his club team mate Asmir Begovic in the Bosnia and Herzegovina goal, to secure a vital 1-0 win for Nigeria.

Bosnia entered the match knew they needed to avoid defeat to stay in their first World Cup, and they should have taken the lead but for a controversial offside.

Manchester City striker Edin Dzeko thought he scored but was flagged offside, even though replays showed he was a yard onside.

Only three minutes later, Dzeko found himself through on goal again, this time he was onside. Bosnia’s centre forward was in a difficult position on the corner of the penalty area and had little of the goal to aim at, Nigeria goalkeeper Victor Enyeama palmed it away.

Nigeria, who drew to Iran in their first match, felt Bosnia’s frustration and capitalised on 29 minutes.

Emmanuel Emineke beat Bosnia defender Emir Spahic for pace to get to the by-line, pulled it back and Stoke City striker Peter Odemwingie beat his club team Asmir Begovic from close range to give the Super Eagles a 1-0 lead.

Bosnia was getting desperate as the match wore on, but failed to create any clear chances. Miralem Pranjic was outstanding in dictating much of the play, even though it was on the losing side.

Dzeko was left frustrated as he didn’t have any more chances, especially after his disallowed goal in the first half. In the last minute though, he thought he equalised when shooting from six yards out in the 92nd minute, only for Enyeama to palm the ball onto the post.

With Bosnia now out, Nigeria need a point against Argentina in their last game to qualify, or hope Iran fail to beat Bosnia.



Bosnia and Herzegovina



Shots on target

Total shots

Team Lineups


  • Vincent Enyeama
  • Kenneth Omeruo
  • Joseph Yobo
  • Juwon Oshaniwa
  • Efe Ambrose
  • Ogenyi Onazi
  • Ahmed Musa
  • Michel Babatunde
  • Peter Odemwingie
  • John Obi Mikel
  • Emmanuel Emenike


  • Reuben Gabriel
  • Kunle Odunlami
  • Victor Moses
  • Austin Ejide
  • Azubuike Egwuekwe
  • Ramón Azeez
  • Ejike Uzoenyi
  • Shola Ameobi
  • Chigozie Agbim
  • Uche Nwofor
  • Michael Uchebo

Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Asmir Begovic
  • Emir Spahic
  • Senad Lulic
  • Toni Sunjic
  • Mensur Mujdza
  • Muhamed Besic
  • Miralem Pjanic
  • Zvjezdan Misimovic
  • Izet Hajrovic
  • Haris Medunjanin
  • Edin Dzeko


  • Avdija Vrsajevic
  • Sead Kolasinac
  • Vedad Ibisevic
  • Edin Visca
  • Asmir Avdukic
  • Ermin Bicakcic
  • Ognjen Vranjes
  • Anel Hadzic
  • Senijad Ibricic
  • Sejad Salihovic
  • Tino Susic
  • Jasmin Fejzic

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch