Netherlands 3-2 Australia: Former Evertonian screamer not enough

An outstanding volley from Tim Cahill wasn’t enough for Australia to prevent the Netherlands from winning and moving a step closer to Group B qualification.

Despite Australia being on top in the first half, the Dutch took the lead after 19 minutes through a great individual goal from Arjen Robben. Picking the ball up on the half way, he used his pace to run into the box and calmly finish into the far corner, scoring his eighth goal in his last eight games for his country.

The lead only lasted 70 seconds, as Tim Cahill equalised with a stunning volley, one that is the goal of the tournament so far. With the ball coming over his right shoulder, the former Everton man hit the ball first time with his weaker left foot and it went in off the underside of the bar, a stunning strike worthy of pulling Australia level.

Australia carried on in the second half and went into the lead after 53mins through a controversial Mile Jedinak penalty, after a Daryl Janmaat handball.

Despite the controversy, Netherlands quickly turned it around just four minutes later through a close range finish from Robin Van Perise into the top corner.

With the momentum with the Dutch at this stage of the match, they took the lead after 67 minutes through substitute Memphis Depay. He hit a shot from 30 yards-out straight at the goalkeeper, but Mat Ryan could only parry it into the bottom left corner.

The Netherlands held on for a win that means they’re all but qualified to the knockout stages whilst Australia are all but out, despite Cahill’s sensational strike.

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch