Tottenham legends feature in World Cup all-time top scorer list

Jurgen Klinsmann USA

Former Tottenham Hotspur stars Jurgen Klinsmann and Gary Lineker feature in the list of all-time leading goalscorers at the World Cup.

1. Ronaldo - 15 goals (Brazil, Barcelona, Real Madrid, AC Milan)

The 'original' Ronaldo was an absolute powerhouse back in the day and leads the way with most goals scored in the history of the World Cup. Making three World Cup appearances, Ronaldo scored four in France '98 where he was also awarded best player. His best World Cup came in 2002 when he not only won the competition with Brazil, but also finished top scorer with eight goals, winning the Golden Boot in the process. In 2006, Ronaldo played his final World Cup, scoring three goals to set the now-standing record. Ronaldo scored a total of 62 goals in 98 games for Brazil putting him third in the all-time top scorers for Brazil behind Pele and Zico.

2. Miroslav Klose - 14 goals (Germany, Bayern Munich, Lazio)

At the age of 36, it feels as though Mirsoslav Klose has been around forever and is now currently at his fourth World Cup. This means that he has an amazing opportunity to surpass Ronaldo’s emphatic record, should he get time on the pitch. Klose’s first World Cup was in 2002 where he came runner-up to Ronaldo with five goals. In 2006, Klose scored the same number, but this time he was awarded the Golden Boot as no one could beat him. His previous World Cup in 2010 saw him score four more with one of those coming against England in the 4-1 win. Klose is Germany’s all-time leading scorer with 69 goals in 132 caps.

2. Gerd Muller - 14 goals (Germany, Bayern Munich)

Joint-second with his compatriot, Gerd Muller only took two World Cups to score 14 goals. The first in 1970 saw him win the Golden Boot with a very impressive 10 goals, this included two hat-tricks in group games against Bulgaria and Peru. In his second and last World Cup in 1974, Muller scored four goals which put him joint-third. Muller is second by one goal in the all-time leading top-scorers' list for Germany with 68 goals in just 62 games.

4. Just Fontaine - 13 goals (France, Stade Reims)

Just Fontaine of France only ever appeared in one World Cup, in 1958, and it is quite incredible when you see that he is fourth on the all-time World Cup top-scorers' list. What’s even more surprising is that France didn’t even win the World Cup that year - they came third. In the playoff, Fontaine scored four goals. Fontaine also scored a hat-trick in the opening group game against Paraguay as part of an dramtic 7-3 win. Fontaine was listed in Pele’s 125 greatest players of all time and is fifth all-time top scorer for France with 30 goals in just 21 games.

5. Pele - 12 goals (Brazil, Santos)

The first man on the list to have never won the Golden Boot, and this may come as a surprise to many. This is despite scoring 77 goals in 92 appearances for Brazil, being their all-time leading goal scorer and playing in four World Cups. Pele got off to a good start in 1958 by scoring six goals and finishing joint runner-up. In the following two World Cups, he didn’t have such a good time only notching one goal in each competition. Pele did enjoy further success in 1970 when he scored four goals and finished joint-fourth highest.

6. Jurgen Klinsmann - 11 goals (Germany, Tottenham Hotspur)

The former Tottenham Hotspur man is also another on this list who has never won the Golden Boot, despite playing in three separate World Cups and notching 11 goals. Klinsmann’s first World Cup in 1990 couldn’t have got off to a better start as West Germany went away winners. Klinsmann also took away a tally of three goals. In his next World Cup, Klinsmann improved, scoring five goals, the joint-second highest tally of the competition, which is impressive when learning that Germany crashed out in the quarter-finals. The 1998 World Cup, Klinsmann’s last, showed a replication tally of his first, three goals. Klinsmann scored 47 goals in 108 caps for Germany putting him behind both Klose and Muller in Germany’s all-time leading top scorers' list.

6. Sandor Kocsis - 11 goals (Hungary, Barcelona)

Much like Just Fontaine, Sandor Kocsis only took one World Cup to accumulate this tally, back in 1954. The Hungarian also helped guide his country to a World Cup final in which they came runners-up - Hungary’s best ever performance in the competition. Naturually, Kocsis won the Golden Boot. Kocsis remains Hungary’s second best all-time goalscorer with 75 goals in just 68 caps.

8. Gabriel Batistuta - 10 goals (Argentina, Fiorentina, Roma)

Batistuta played in three consecutive World Cups and is another among those who never won the Golden Boot. His first World Cup in 1994 saw him notch four goals, but he couldn’t prevent Argentina from crashing out in the the first knockout stage. His second saw him grab one more and score five, including a penalty against England, he finished runner-up to the superb Davor Suker. Argentina lost in the quarter-finals this time. The last World Cup he played in - in 2002 - Argentina had a dismal campaign, failing to qualify out of their group and Batistuta only scored one goal. He remains Argentina’s all-time leading goal scorer with 56 goals in 78 caps, a wonderful record.

8. Gary Lineker - 10 goals (England, Leicester City, Everton, Barcelona)

In his first World Cup in 1986, Lineker won the Golden Boot with six goals as England lost 2-1 to Argentina in the quarter-finals. This was when Diego Maradona scored his ‘hand of god’ goal, with Lineker also finding the net in that game. In the group stages, the former Tottenham legend scored a memorable hat-trick against Poland. The following World Cup in 1990, Lineker didn’t really get started until the knockout phase where he tallied a total of four goals in the campaign, the third highest total in the competition. England were knocked out on penalties to West Germany in the semi-finals. Lineker is second by one goal to Sir Bobby Charlton in England’s all-time top goalscorers' list.

8. Teofilo Cubillas - 10 goals (Peru, Porto)

A perhaps unheard of name, Cubillas burst onto the scene in the 1970 World Cup for Peru, scoring five goals and receiving the Best Young Player award. He came third behind Jairzinho and Gerd Muller. After failing to qualify in 1974, Cubillas had to wait eight years before he could have another crack at the competition. Again he scored five goals and finished joint runner-up behind winner, Mario Kempes. His five goals included a hat-trick against Iran. Despite Peru qualifying for the 1982 World Cup, Cubillas failed to net even one goal. He is Peru’s all time leading top goalscorer with 26 goals in 81 caps.

Notable Others:

Helmut Rahn (10), Grzegorz Lato (10), Roberto Baggio (9), Eusabio (9), Christian Vieri (9), Diego Maradona (8), Rivaldo (8), Thomas Mueller (8) & David Villa (8).

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for EVERTON team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch