Iran 0-0 Nigeria: Chelsea midfielder involved in World Cup’s first draw

Iran 0 - 0 Nigeria

    Ref: Carlos Vera
    Attendance: 38,081

    Iran crowd with flag

    Chelsea midfielder Jon Obi Mikel played a full 90 minutes in what was a 0-0 draw to bring this World Cup’s first goalless game.

    In what was a pretty dour affair, Iran and Nigeria bagged the World Cup’s first draw. For 90 minutes the two teams were playing a game of chess, working each other and neither having any clear-cut opportunities.

    Nigeria were the favourites heading into this match and did enjoy a fair share of the possession, but they lacked creativity where it was needed.

    In fairness to Iran, they didn’t lose as was expected by many and showed a spirited performance to give their travelling fans something to shout about.

    In the ninth minute Nigeria could have taken the lead when Iran goalkeeper Alireza Haghighi spilled the ball and it ended up in the net. However, the referee adjudged there to be a foul by Mikel on Haghighi.

    With players such as Victor Moses, Shola Ameobi, Peter Odemwingie and Mikel, Nigeria will be disappointed to not get anything out of the game. Moses was particularly poor.

    Both sides will face an uphill task as Bosnia-Herzegovina and Argentina will remain favourites to qualify.






    Shots on target

    Total shots

    Team Lineups


    • Alireza Haghighi
    • Amir Hossein Sadeqi
    • Jalal Hosseini
    • Mehrdad Pooladi
    • Pejman Montazeri
    • Andranik Teymourian
    • Javad Nekounam
    • Ashkan Dejagah
    • Khosro Heydari
    • Ehsan Hajsafi
    • Reza Ghoochanneijhad


    • Kirim Ansarifard
    • Reza Haghighi
    • Rahman Ahmadi
    • Alireza Jahanbakhsh
    • Daniel Davari
    • Masoud Shojaei
    • Steven Beitashour
    • Ahmad Alnameh
    • Hossein Mahini
    • Bakhtiar Rahmani
    • Ghasem Haddadifar
    • Hashem Beikzadeh


    • Vincent Enyeama
    • Juwon Oshaniwa
    • Kenneth Omeruo
    • Efe Ambrose
    • Godfrey Oboabona
    • Ahmed Musa
    • Ogenyi Onazi
    • Ramón Azeez
    • John Obi Mikel
    • Victor Moses
    • Emmanuel Emenike


    • Peter Odemwingie
    • Joseph Yobo
    • Shola Ameobi
    • Reuben Gabriel
    • Uche Nwofor
    • Michel Babatunde
    • Azubuike Egwuekwe
    • Austin Ejide
    • Michael Uchebo
    • Kunle Odunlami
    • Chigozie Agbim
    • Ejike Uzoenyi

    Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch