Top five Premier League penalty kings: Liverpool and Man City stars on top

We look at the best spot kick specialists from last season's Premier League, with Chelsea, Tottenham, and Swansea players all featuring.

With the World Cup on the horizon, and huge games likely to be decided via the dreaded penalty shootout, we take a look back at the best spot kick specialists from the recent Premier League season.

Liverpool (12), Manchester City and Chelsea (both 7) received the most penalty kicks this season, unsurprising given their positions in the final league table, but interestingly, each side had different levels of success when it came to converting their efforts.

Below, with the help of Opta, we look at which players impressed most from the penalty spot across the course of the season.

  TeamPosPen GoalPen Miss% ConvertedGoals% Of GoalsMins
Steven Gerrard Liverpool MF 10 1 90.91% 13 76.92% 2,900
Yaya Touré Man City MF 6 0 100% 20 30% 2,927
Wilfried Bony Swansea FW 4 0 100% 16 25% 2,472
Eden Hazard Chelsea FW 4 0 100% 14 28.57% 2,895
Roberto Soldado Spurs FW 4 0 100% 6 66.67% 1,931

Liverpool profited more than any other Premier League team this season when it came to earning penalties, winning a huge 12 spot kicks over the course of the league season. Of these, Steven Gerrard took 11, with Daniel Sturridge taking (and mission) the other. In terms of goals, the Liverpool and England captain's 10 from 11 is very impressive, and makes him the Premier League's penalty king for 2013-14.

Interestingly, no team has received more than 12 penalties in the last twelve Premier League seasons, though Crystal Palace in 2005 and Chelsea in 2010 both matched that figure.

Champions Manchester City won 7 penalties, 6 out of 6 of which were converted by Yaya Toure, while Sergio Aguero missed his only attempt. Ivory Coast midfielder Toure's conversion rate of 100% from 6 efforts make him the most reliable penalty taker this season, and from a different perspective, the league's best.

Three other players round off the top five, all having netted 4 penalties from 4 attempts.

Like City, Chelsea won 7 pens this season, with Eden Hazard scoring his 4 efforts and Frank Lampard only netting 1 of his 3.

Roberto Soldado scored all 4 of his Tottenham efforts, while fellow striker Emmanuel Adebayor scored 1 and saw 1 saved. Wilfried Bony took all of Swansea's spot kicks, converting every one.

Register for LIVERPOOL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch