Ferguson involved as six reported United targets make Europa League TOTY

A UEFA technical committee that involved Sir Alex Ferguson picked six Manchester United targets out for the Europa League Team of the Year.

The former Manchester United manager was part of the UEFA technical committee that named the Europa League Team of the Year.

Of the 18 names on the list, six have been heavily linked with Manchester United over the past season and another, Carlos Tevez, is a player who once played under Sir Alex Ferguson at Old Trafford.

Most of the names on the list are not a surprise, nor are the teams they play for.

The finalists, Benfica and Sevilla, dominate the list with half the players coming from their two squads alone. Other notable mentions are mainly from the bigger clubs of the tournament including Juventus and FC Porto.

The players on the list who have been linked with United in the past are Eliaquim Mangala, Ezequiel Garay, Ivan Rakitic, Nicolas Gaitan, Rodrigo and Lazar Markovic.

Of the players linked with Manchester United, a few of them have already closed the door on a potential move to Old Trafford this summer.

Although the door is not slammed shut, Mangala has reportedly been offered to Atletico Madrid courtesy of his agent; a move which suggests neither Manchester United or Manchester City are his first-choice of club.

Long-term target Garay looks to be heading to German champions Bayern Munich, while Spain's top trio have all been heavily linked with influential Seville midfielder Ivan Rakitic.

Benfica trio Markovic, Gaitan and Rodrigo all seem still available this summer, although competition for their signatures is expected to be very high. Chelsea, Liverpool and Arsenal are reportedly among those interested in the talented threesome

You can see the full list below:

Beto (Sevilla FC)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

Eliaquim Mangala (FC Porto)
Ezequiel Garay (SL Benfica)
Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
Nicolas Pareja (Sevilla FC)
Gonzalo Rodríguez (ACF Fiorentina)

Andrea Pirlo (Juventus)
Borja Valero (ACF Fiorentina)
Ivan Rakitić (Sevilla FC)
Stéphane Mbia (Sevilla FC)
Nicolás Gaitán (SL Benfica)
André Gomes (SL Benfica)

Carlos Tévez (Juventus)
Gonzalo Higuaín (SSC Napoli)
Jonatan Soriano (FC Salzburg)
Rodrigo (SL Benfica)
Lazar Marković (SL Benfica)


Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch