Beastie Boys: 'We can't make new music' and may never play live again

Appearing in court as part of their lawsuit against Monster Energy Drink, Mike D has spoken of the hip-hop group's future following the death of Adam Yauch

Beastie Boys' Michael "Mike D" Diamond has reportedly stated that the group will never stage live shows or record new music without the late Adam Yauch, AKA MCA. Appearing in court as part of the band's lawsuit against Monster Energy Drink, Mike D suggested the trio's two surviving members have decided to discontinue the project following Yauch's 2012 death.

"We have not been able to tour since MCA, Adam Yauch, died," Diamond told the court on 30 May, according to New York Daily News. "We can't make new music … [and] we do not let our music get used in in commercials for commercial products."

Beastie Boys' opinion on advertising has been known since August 2012, shortly after Yauch died of cancer aged 47. His will stated: "Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, in no event may my image or name or any music or any artistic property created by me be used for advertising purposes." This promise was at the root of the Beastie Boys' recent dispute with the toy company GoldieBlox and it is at the heart of their current legal battle with Monster.

In the weeks after Yauch's death, Mike D told Rolling Stone that although he could foresee making music again, he wasn't sure about "a band format". "But Yauch would genuinely want us to try whatever crazy thing we wanted but never got around to," he said.

However, this is the first time that surviving members Diamond or Adam "Ad-Rock" Horovitz have said the group may stop performing or recording. Horovitz and Diamond are currently working on a Beastie Boys memoir, due in 2015, and they collaborated on a Yoko Ono Plastic Band remix last year.

The group's most recent album was Hot Sauce Committee Part Two, released in April 2011.

Powered by article was written by Sean Michaels, for on Tuesday 3rd June 2014 08.36 Europe/London © Guardian News and Media Limited 2010