Ex-United and Chelsea startlets favourites for World Cup Young Player award

Adidas Brazuca

Former Manchester United starlet Paul Pogba and Chelsea striker Romelu Lukaku are the named favourites for the prestigious World Cup Young Player award.

According to BetVictor, Paul Pogba and Romelu Lukaku are the top two players tipped to win the Young Player award in Brazil this summer, ahead of the likes of Julian Draxler, Adnan Januzaj and Raphael Varane.

Focusing on England, Merseyside duo Raheem Sterling and Ross Barkley are tied to win the award, both priced at 10/1, a price that makes them joint fifth favourite for the award. Oxlade-Chamberlain and Luke Shaw also make the list, but with much longer odds. 

The List:

Paul Pogba - 4/1

Romelu Lukaku - 6/1

Julian Draxler - 7/1

Adnan Januzaj - 9/1

Raphael Varane - 10/1

Raheem Sterling - 10/1 

Ross Barkley - 10/1


Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain - 20/1

Luke Shaw - 33/1


Luke Shaw and Adnan Januzaj are outside bets for the World Cup award

The award was brought in during the 2006 World Cup in Germany and is given to the best player under-21 at the start of the calender year. It was first won by Arsenal attacker Lukas Podolski in 2006 after he was controversially picked over Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo.

In 2010, it was another German that claimed the award, this time not controversially, as Thomas Muller was deservedly awarded for his fantastic tournament. 

The spotlight will arguably be on talented German midfielder Julian Draxler, the third favourite, to win the award and make it a German hat-trick; however, Paul Pogba looks to be a formidable bookmakers early favourite with odds at just 4/1. 

Adnan Januzaj will also fancy his chances after a good debut season at Old Trafford, but personally, I feel Varane is a fantastic bet at 10/1 and I'd argue that he is possibly the dark horse in this open race.

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch