Confirmed Ivory Coast World Cup squad: Arsenal flop misses out

Ivory Coast have named a preliminary 28-man squad for this summer's World Cup - but Emmanuel Eboue misses out.

Often tipped as the African side with the biggest chance of winning the World Cup, Ivory Coast have named an initial group of players to take to Brazil, with 28 players currently on the list - which will have to be cut to 23 before they make the trip to South America.

Manager Sabri Lamouchi is able to call upon a plethora of strikers such as Didier Drogba, Wilfried Bony, Seydou Doumbia and Lacina Traore, whilst other big names like Kolo Toure, Cheick Tiote, Yaya Toure, Gervinho and Salomon Kalou are also in the squad.

However, former Arsenal right back Eboue is left out, and his place in the defence will almost certainly be handed to Gunners target Serge Aurier, who has had an excellent season in France with Toulouse.

The Elephants face Japan, Colombia and Greece in Group C this summer, and expectations are high once again - particularly having been handed a more favourable draw this time. In 2006 they took on Argentina and Holland in the group stage, and in 2010 it was Portugal and Brazil standing in their way as they failed to get out of the group stage.

Here is the preliminary squad named by Lamouchi for this summer's tournament.

Goalkeepers Copa Barry (Lokeren), Gbohouo Sylvain (Sewe Sport), Sayouba Mandé (Stabaek), Badra Ali (ASEC Mimosas).

Defenders Kolo Touré (Liverpool), Sol Bamba (Trabzonspor), Jean Daniel Akpa Akpro (Toulouse), Arthur Boka (Stuttgart), Serge Aurier (Toulouse), Brice Dja Djédjé (Marseille), Didier Zokora (Trabzonspor), Benjamin Angoua (Valenciennes), Ousman Vieira (Caykur Rizespor).

Midfielders Cheik Tioté (Newcastle), Yaya Touré (Manchester City), Romaric (Bastia), Max-Alain Gradel (St-Etienne), Ismaël Diomandé (St-Etienne), Didier Ya Konan (Hannover), Constant Djakpa (Eintracht Frankfurt), Geoffroy Serey Dié (Basel).

Strikers Wilfried Bony (Swansea), Didier Drogba (Galatasaray), Gervinho (Roma), Giovanni Sio (Basel), Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow), Lacina Traoré (Monaco), Salomon Kalou (Lille).

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch