PFA League One Team of the Year revealed: Wolves dominate

Molineux - Wolves - Billy Wright Stand

The League One team of the year was dominated by Champions Wolverhampton Wanderers - who had five players in the side.

The League One season is set to end next weekend, and whilst there are still many relegation issues still to be resolved on the final day, today the focus was - mainly - on the top end of the division, as the team of the year was released this evening at the PFA Awards.

Wolverhampton Wanderers, who broke the 100 point barrier with a 1-1 draw at Coventry City on Saturday, are set to return to the Championship as League One winners, and Kenny Jackett's side were well represented in the team of the year, with five players making it on the team.

Goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, right back Sam Ricketts, centre back Danny Batth, central midfielder Kevin McDonald and winger Bakary Sako have had fine season at Molineux this year and were rewarded with their place in the team.

Most of the top six were also recognised, as second placed Brentford had left back Jake Bidwell and midfielder Adam Forshaw in the side, with Rotherham United and Peterborough United - both set for playoff campaigns at the end of the season - each having one player, with Ben Pringle and Britt Assombalong making the team respectively.

There were also places for Sheffield United defender Harry Maguire and Coventry City's prolific forward Callum Wilson, but third placed Preston had no recognition at all, despite striker Joe Garner hitting 18 goals as Simon Grayson's side lost just six games this season - the second lowest total in the division.

League One Team of the Year: Carl Ikeme (Wolves); Sam Ricketts (Wolves), Danny Batth (Wolves), Harry Maguire (Sheffield United), Jake Bidwell (Brentford); Bakary Sako (Wolves), Adam Forshaw (Brentford), Kevin McDonald (Wolves), Ben Pringle (Rotherham United); Britt Assombalonga (Peterborough United), Callum Wilson (Coventry City)

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch