Coldplay announces new album Ghost Stories

Ahead of their South by Southwest performance, the quartet unveil the follow up to Mylo Xyloto and new single Magic

Coldplay last night unveiled details of their sixth studio album and its first official single, entitled Magic.

Named Ghost Stories, the follow-up album to Mylo Xylotowill arrive on 19 May via Parlophone/Atlantic Records, and fans who pre-order now will receive an instant download of the new single, which is currently being streamed on YouTube.

Details of the band’s new material comes a week after the quartet launched the track Midnight, produced by Jon Hopkins, along with an accompanying video. Featuring sparse and ambient sounds and heavily distorted vocals by frontman Chris Martin, Midnight has sparked a mix reaction among fans, marking a shift in Coldplay’s formative sound.

As yet, little else is known about their forthcoming album, however their website currently shows an image of the album’s artwork – a pair of illustrated wings you can zoom in to view with a digital magnifying glass.

Tracklist for Ghost Stories

1. Always in My Head
2. Magic
3. Ink
4. True Love
5. Midnight
6. Another’s Arms
7. Oceans
8. A Sky Full of Stars
9. O

Coldplay will headline the inaugural US edition of the iTunes Festival at SXSW on 11 March. Listen to Magic below and let us know your thoughts.

Powered by article was written by Harriet Gibsone, for on Monday 3rd March 2014 08.01 Europe/London © Guardian News and Media Limited 2010


image: © Alex Bikfalvi