Quick links

Manchester City

Ouside the box? What about these two decisions? - Spanish paper hits back over Demichelis challenge

Spanish newspaper Marca has documented two big decisions that went against Barcelona last night.

Plenty of Manchester City fans are going to be feeling aggrieved this morning after Barcelona’s penalty last night was wrongly awarded.

Martin Demichelis was shown a straight red card for clipping Lionel Messi, which was the right decision but the referee got it wrong when he pointed to the penalty spot.

As well as running a story on that incident during the game, Spanish newspaper Marca has also run stories on two other incidents during the game which went against the Spanish giants.

The first was a hand ball from Gael Clichy inside the City penalty area, which could easily have been given as a penalty, and the second was Gerard Pique’s goal, wrongly ruled out for Cesc Fabregas being ruled offside.

“Referee disallows legal Barca goal” and “Clichy handball didn’t warrant penalty” are the two headlines following up on a discussion over Demichelis’ tackle on Messi.

Those two incidents contradict claims from Manuel Pellegrini after the final whistle that the referee and officials weren’t being impartial to both sides during the game.

“The referee decided the game. He was on Barcelona's side from the beginning until the end - I think it was not a good idea to put a referee from Sweden in charge of this match, and a referee who made an important mistake against Barcelona in a previous match. Today he rearranged it,” said the Chilean.

City now have it all to do in Spain when they head to the Nou Camp for the second leg, looking to overturn a two goal deficit. However, Pellegrini’s team can look at the example of Chelsea beating Barcelona in the Nou Camp, with ten men, as they went on to win the tournament in 2012.

image: © geetarchurchy

Register for MANCHESTER CITY team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch