PHOTO: Proof Barcelona should NEVER have had a penalty against City?

Barcelona defeated Manchester City in England but their first goal perhaps should never have been…

Lionel Messi and Dani Alves scored Barcelona's two goals that downed Manchester City at the Etihad Stadium earlier today, Tuesday.

Barca attacking magician Messi got the first after 54 minutes, a penalty spot conversion, however, video replays and photographic evidence suggest the infringement may have occurred outside of the area, resulting in the awarding of a free-kick, rather than a penalty.

While Alves added a second, potentially crucial away goal in the final minute, had the referee Jonas Eriksson given a free kick 35 minutes prior, there would be no guarantees it would have returned a goal for the Catalan visitors.

Regardless of Alves netting at the end, a 1-0 deficit would have been an arduous but possible gap to overturn at Camp Nou in the second leg, but to go on to win the fixture from 2-0 down may prove impossible…

image: © Free-ers

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for MANCHESTER CITY team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch