Quick links


Serie A

Pirlo wins Player of the Year award

Juventus' Andrea Pirlo was named Player of the Year at the Gran Galà del Calcio AIC awards for 2013 held last night.

Juventus dominated the awards for last year and inspirational midfielder Andrea Pirlo won the prize for best player.

Four Bianconeri players were included in the team of the season with the central defensive pairing of Andrea Barzagli and Giorgio Chiellini both being selected as well as Pirlo and Arturo Vidal.

Coach Antonio Conte was also given the award for best coach of the year for his efforts in leading the Old Lady to the Scudetto.

However, there was no award for Paul Pogba or Claudio Marchisio as they were beaten by Fiorenina's Borja Valero.

Man of the moment Juventus and Sassuolo co-owned marksman Domenico Berardi, who is allegedly a target for several Premier League clubs, was given the award for Best Player in Serie B.

Gran Galà del Calcio AIC awards for 2013:

Best Goalkeeper: Samir Handanovic (Inter)

Best Right Back: Christian Maggio (Napoli)

Best Left Back: Mattia De Sciglio (AC Milan)

Best Central Defenders: Andrea Barzagli (Juventus) and Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

Best Midfielders:Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Arturo Vidal (Juventus) and Borja Valero (Fiorentina)

Best Strikers: Edinson Cavani (Napoli/PSG), Antonio Di Natale (Udinese) and Mario Balotelli (AC Milan)

Best Serie A Player: Andre Pirlo (Juventus)

Best Serie B Player:Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo)

Best Female Player: Melania Gabbiadini (AGSM Verona)

Best Coach: Antonio Conte

Best Club: Juventus

Best Referee: Nicola Rizzoli

image: © Jan S0L0

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch