Ballon d'Or breakdown: The Premier League's most nominated players - who's top?

Manchester United's Robin van Persie would have won the 'Premier League's Ballon d'Or', according to the votes cast.

Just one British player received a vote from his peers, with only six players featuring from England's top flight

After Monday night's Ballon d'Or ceremony saw Cristiano Ronaldo awarded the trophy ahead of Lionel Messi, we take a look at the Premier League players of 2013 who received a nomination.

The Ballon d'Or trophy is awarded to the player that receives the most selections from national team captains, national team managers and national media representatives, who select their first, second and third choices for best player in the world.

Barcelona star Messi had won the last four trophies before Ronaldo finally edged in front of him after an outstanding 2013, but there were markedly few players from the Premier League recognised in the votes.

After the ceremony, FIFA released details of who voted for who within the international circles, and it certainly makes for interesting reading. 

Six different teams each had one of the six Premier League representatives, with Manchester United's Robin van Persie proving to be the top player with 38 total votes.

The striker, currently out with a thigh injury, has scored 10 goals in 16 games for United this year, after a fine debut season that saw him score 30 in 48. Even more impressive is the fact that Van Persie netted 8 goals in 7 games for the Netherlands national team, on the way to becoming his country's record goalscorer.

After the Dutchman is Gareth Bale with 25 votes, the sole British representative despite having left Tottenham for Spain in August.

Manchester City's Yaya Toure is next with 22 votes, and of the six players, has perhaps enjoyed the most impressive season so far, scoring 13 goals from 27 games from midfield. 

Arsenal's Mesut Ozil is next with 15 votes, while Chelsea's Eden Hazard and Liverpool's Luis Suarez each have 9 votes.

Surprisingly, there are no votes for Premier League stars Sergio Aguero or Wayne Rooney, meaning that no English players received a vote - damning facts ahead of the summer's World Cup. Equally of concern is the fact that no Premier League players made the top 5 with stars such as Franck Ribery, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Neymar all coming ahead of Van Persie. 

Premier League players who received Ballon d'Or votes: 

1.Robin Van Persie 38 votes

2.Gareth Bale 25 votes

3.Yaya Toure 22 votes

4.Mesut Ozil 15 votes

5.Eden Hazard 9 votes

5.Luis Suarez 9 votes

Wayne Rooney 0 votes

Sergio Aguero 0 votes


image: © Doha Stadium Plus

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for MANCHESTER CITY team updates

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch