Quick links

Serie A

IFFHS names best goalkeepers in the world

The International Football Federation of History and Statistics has named its top 10 goalkeepers in the world for 2013.

The winner of the IFFHS goalkeeper award for 2013 was Manuel Neuer who has played every minute of Bayern Munich's current Bundesliga campaign.

The IFFHS is a respected organisation and the award is voted for by a group of journalists and football experts from more than 70 different countries.

Neuer won five trophies with Bayern Munich in 2013 plus leading Germany to World Cup qualification and he won the vote by a clear distance.

But Gigi Buffon, who briefly came under fire during Juventus' rocky patch last October, will be proud of finishing as runner-up.

At the age of 35, Buffon remains a rock in the Juventus goal and he nearly won another prestigious award, finishing second in the International Football Federation of History and Statistics' Top 10 Goalkeepers of 2013.

The Italian international was blamed by some for the Old Lady's shock 4-2 reverse against Fiorentina and for a time there were question marks over his shot stopping, but he proved his doubters wrong with a return to form.

Chelsea's Petr Cech and Thibaut Courtois, who is on loan at Atletico Madrid finished third and fourth and Victor Valdes was fifth.

Buffon has previously won the IFFHS award four times but not since 2007 when he retained the title he won in Italy's World Cup winning year.

Real Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas had won the prize for the last five years running and is the man who has been honoured with it the most times, but he only finished sixth.

images: © mikebrown59, © blangiardi

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch