Scott Brown only has himself to blame for sending off against Barcelona

Celtic Champions League

However soft it may have been, there was no need for him to kick out at Neymar.

Neil Lennon was furious with the sending off of Scott Brown during last night’s 1-0 defeat to Barcelona in the Champions League.

However, the Celtic captain can only have himself to blame for what can only described as idiotic. Having already tripped Neymar when trying to win the ball, Brown looked to have a second go at the Brazilian, but why?

With the game at 0-0, Celtic still had a chance of winning the game with eleven men for each side, but his moment of madness gave the referee the opportunity to send him off.

When a side is struggling to get through, they’re going to take every opportunity possible. You can criticise Neymar for histrionics and overreacting to Brown’s kick – but that’s what it was. He kicked out at him when the ball was nowhere near, it was gone. Neymar saw an opportunity that could potentially open up Celtic’s resistance and took it.

There was no sense in what he did – plus if Brown had watched much of Barcelona in a big game, their actions can seem somewhat overreacted when it comes to some challenges.

Neil Lennon is right to have a go at Neymar crying as if he’d been shot, but he needs to take his skipper to the side and ask him this question: Why did he do something so idiotic at such a crucial moment in Celtic’s Champions League campaign?

Only Scott Brown knows.

image: © easylocum

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch