Gary Neville: 'Unnatural' Ashley Cole dived

Ashley Cole 3

Former Manchester United man Gary Neville has criticised Ashley Cole for diving during Chelsea's 0-0 draw away to the champions.

Manchester United and Chelsea drew 0-0 at Old Trafford, with one of the most contentious issues a penalty appeal Ashley Cole desperately claiming for one midway through the second half.

Having put the ball through Phil Jones' legs, Cole ran past him before falling down in the box, claiming he was tripped.

Referee Martin Atkinson ignored his appeals, with Jose Mourinho animated on the sidelines, angry it was not given.

After the game, in the Sky studio, Manchester United defender turned pundit, Gary Neville, gave his view on the incident.

"It wasn't a penalty. The claim is after a delayed fall. Certainly not a penalty. It's a good run from him.

"The fall wasnt natural. If there was contact it's not enough to bring him down. He's dived. He's gone to win the penalty."

After the incident, Cole angrily demanded the referee book him if his view was that he had dived; to no response.

He's right though. With Cole appealing for a spot-kick, either it's a penalty, or a dive. And for a referee to make a decision on neither; he has got it wrong somewhere.

Let us know your view... Penalty or dive?

image: © Live4Soccer(L4S)

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch