Investec Ashes 2013: Tweeting through the Ashes.

Twitter Sign

Ashes 2013 could go onto smash all cricketing social media records. Want to ride the twitter wave? Here's how.

Whether you're watching it on your phone, iPad, Laptop or TV, the Ashes series 2013 promises to be a summer smash for twitter.com. Not only will cricket lovers be basking in the sunshine and reveling in the gripping nature of the cricket, they'll also be swimming merrily in a sea of tweets from around the globe. So whether you're a serial tweeter or just a newbie here's a simple guide on how to enjoy the Ashes using this particular social forum.

Who to follow?

The more the merrier. Below is a list of tweeters from whom information regarding all things Ashes can be consumed. Have any questions? Tweet them.

England

@ECB_cricket

Players:

Jimmy Anderson (@JimmyAnderson9)

Jonathan Bairstow (@jbairstow21)

Tim Bresnan (@timbresnan)

Stuart Broad (@StuartBroad8)

Steven Finn (@finnysteve)

Kevin Pietersen (@KP24)

Matt Prior (@MattPrior13)

Joe Root (@joeroot05)

Graeme Swann (@Swannyg66)

Graham Onions (@bunnyonions)

Australia

Cricket Australia (@CricketAus)

Players

Jackson Bird (@Jackson_bird)

Michael Clarke (@MClarke23)

Eddie Cowan @eddiecowan

James Faulkner (@FaulknerC25)

Ryan Harris (@r_harris413)

Usman Khawaja (@Uz_Khawaja)

Nathan Lyon (@NathLyon421)

Matthew Wade (@MatthewWade13)

David Warner (@davidwarner31)

Coach - @darren_lehmann

 

Fancy being on TV or Radio? Why not tweet them and chance your luck, it might be read out live on air.

UK Broadcasters

Sky Sports (@SkySports)

Channel 5 (@channel5_tv)

Cricket on 5 (@cricketon5)

BBC TMS (@BBCTMS)

BBC Sport (@BBCSport)

BBC Five Live Sports Extra (@BBC5LSX)

Other Broadcasters

Channel 9 (@Channel9)

Wide World of Sports (@wwos9)

Fox Sports (@FOXSportsAUS)

Fox Cricket Live (@FOXCricketLive)

Fox Cricket (@FOX_CRICKET)

ABC Radio (@abcgrandstand)

Official Ashes Hashtags

If you'd like to tweet to people who are on the same page as you, hashtags are the way forward. There are many variations of the ashes hashtag on twitter but the official hashtag for the test match series is #Ashes

For England fans wanting to talk about all matters relating to the England side, the ECB will be using #rise

For Australian fans the hashtag being used by Cricket Australia will be #ReturntheUrn

 

Here at HITC we will be getting stuck into the twittersphere ourselves and will be providing coverage of the Ashes 2013 so why not follow us on @HITCcricket

We all hope you'll enjoy the cricket as much as we will. Best of luck to both teams and may the best team take home the Urn.

Rana Malook is a sports writer for HITC you can follow his tweets here.

 

 

image: © Howard Lake