Olivier Giroud and Arsene Wenger disagree over red-card decision at Fulham

The two Arsenal Frenchman have conflicting views regarding the red-card shown to the striker yesterday.

Arsenal earned an important if not scrappy victory at Craven Cottage yesterday in a game fuelled by numerous decisions by match officials. First of all there was the sending off of Steve Sidwell. The former Arsenal trainee had only just returned to action after a three-game-suspension for a similar misdemeanour but to get sent off so quickly after his return was a travesty; and I don’t think anybody could complain when Andre Marriner pulled the red-card out for the foul on Mikel Arteta.

Another decision came courtesy of Sian Massey. Once again the assistant making a spot on judgement call for an offside decision involving Stanislav Manolev that left Fulham upset but not angry; surely realising the right decision had been made by the consistent official from Coventry.

The next was yet another red-card; this time for Olivier Giroud in the dying stages of the game.

The Frenchman went in hard on Bulgarian Manolev and he was duly giv en his marching orders despite clear protestations from the 26-year-old. The Frenchman will now miss the season run-in with an automatic three-game ban.

For once Arsene Wenger seemed to agree entirely with the referees decisions; that or he could not see the point of arguing without the bitter taste of a defeat in his mouth.

Speaking of the incident involving Giroud he stated:

"It looked like it yes. I spoke with Giroud just now and he said he slipped when he went for the ball and I don't complain about [the decision]."

So Wenger was content with the decision of Marriner to give Giroud his marching orders; but his player was not so satisfied with the decision according to his official Twitter account:

Roughly translated according to Olivier Giroud’s Official Facebook Page this Tweet reads:

‘Crucial victory today against Fulham (0-1), in spite of a hard match. But such a severe decision with the red card, isn't it ?... So disappointed...’

So Giroud was not in agreement with his boss over the decision of the officials.

In some respects you can see where the former Montpellier man is coming from. He did seem to be going to block the ball rather than make a challenge before his standing foot gave way underneath him causing him to accidentally lunge in on the Bulgarian full-back.

But that does not mean it was not a red-card. Marriner may not have seen the slip and all he saw was a reckless lunge so for once I might have to side with Wenger on this one. Well at least he saw it for once hey?!?

Do you think it was a red-card?

images: © Ronnie Macdonald, © Ronnie Macdonald

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch