NextGen Series: Arsenal, Aston Villa and Chelsea starlets jet to Italy for Finals weekend

Serge Gnabry Nextgen

The NextGen Series finals weekend is upon us and you can see all three of our representatives live on Eurosport from Lake Como.

The NextGen Series quarter finals are all done and dusted with no fewer than THREE English sides making it into the semi-final of the competition.

Aston Villa face Portuguese side Sporting Lisbon in their final four match while an all-London tie between Arsenal and Chelsea completes the round-up of games at the picturesque location of Lake Como in Italy.

While Sporting and Chelsea are being installed as the favourites Arsenal have been in terrific form during the knock-out stages while Villa of course dealt out a thrashing to their Portuguese opponents in the Group Stage; winning 5-1 in Lisbon.

Therefore dishing out favourites tags may seem very premature for what seems such an open competition.

It is a welcome relief for English sides to see their youth-teams doing so well; after the disappointment of no domestic senior outfits making it to the final-eight of Europe’s elite this season.

With the games taking place tomorrow many of the lads who will be in action for Arsenal, Villa and Chelsea have been letting their excitement spill over on Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

The first game sees Chelsea take on Arsenal at 15:00 CET (14:00 GMT) while Villa will do battle with Sporting from 20:00 CET (19:00 GMT) with both games being broadcast live on Eurosport.

Do you think we could have an all English final?

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for ASTON VILLA team updates

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch